This charming Georgian cottage house with double bays is owned by Pat and Ruth Ann Baird. It was constructed in 1904 by Frank B. Davant. In 1909, the property was sold to Frank M. Watson, an employee of the Brumby Chair Company. It remained Mr. Watson’s home for almost 30 years before being purchased by George L. Lemming – an employee of the Southern Railway Company – in 1938. In 1949, his widow sold the home to J. D. and Evelyn Hayes.
Mr. Hayes was a prominent local citizen, who owned the Marietta Dish & Pottery Company Gift & China Shop. He also served as president of the Lions Club and as an Elder at First Presbyterian Church. Their daughter Martha Hayes inherited the home and lived there until her death in 2010. The Bairds then purchased the house from her estate.
The house contains many unique features including original windows, columns, fireplaces and woodwork. The mantle and window bench in the living room are also original. In the 1950s, Mr. Hayes and his family remodeled the front porch. Evelyn Hayes loved flowers both inside and outside her home. This lead Mr. Hayes to build the additional entry under the house (left of the front porch), so Evelyn could protect her flowers during the winter. The back addition was built in 1994 by Martha Hayes. This lovely home is filled with family heirlooms and antiques.
Tickets may be purchased in person at the Marietta Welcome Center or Cobb Landmarks & Historical Society.
Day of Event Tickets:
Day Tour: $25.00
Candlelight Tour: $20.00
Volunteer your time for the Marietta event of the season. It takes over 300 volunteers to make the Tour a success!
During the Tour,
warm up with
The Bistro at
Click here for Special Packages at the Hilton Atlanta/Marietta Hotel & Conference Center